Staff, Board and Advisors


NOTE from Lisa — this comes from the Teams plugin — find it in the sidebar at left

Kirsti Harms
Executive Director


Awesome prairie advocate and birder. Coffee drinker. 

Sideoats Grama
State Grass of Texas


It's not easy being the state grass of Texas, but somebody's gotta do it.

Prairie Dog
Ambassador of Cute

Maddin Prairie

Got carrots?


President: Pat Merkord, Conroe

Pat Merkord, served as a member of the Board of Directors. She supported Native Prairies Association of Texas as Executive Director until she retired in March, 2018. Prior to that she served as Secretary and President of the Board. She owns a consulting business, Bluestem Environmental Consultants. Her previous business endeavors included wildlife management plans, wildlife and endangered species surveys, plant surveys and watershed evaluations.

President-elect: Lan Shen, Houston
Secretary: David Bezanson, Austin
Treasurer: Douglas Neaves, Houston

Board of Directors

Barbara Keller-Willy, Houston (Past President)
Don Kirchoff, San Antonio
Tim Siegmund, College Station 
Jason Singhurst, Austin
Jason Spangler, Austin (Past President, Past Treasurer)
Michelle Villafranca, Fort Worth


Executive Director: Kirsti Harms, Austin (Past President)
Director of Education: Della Barbato, Lawther – Deer Park Prairie
Office Administrator: Patricia Rinn, San Marcos

Advisory Board

Scientific Advisor:Dr. Fred Smeins
Clair Burleson
Mickey Burleson
B.F. Hicks
Bob O’Kennon
David Todd
Carolyn Vogel
Matt White